Overcoming

Overcoming

As I reflect on my life and my journey I realize there are some minor things and some major things that I have overcame to be where I am today.

It’s not always easy for me to recognize these things and its easy to under deflate their value…but I’m a strong woman because of these things.

I got married right out of high school..had 2 wonderful boys. My ex was not a pleasant person..he was cruel. He was emotionally abusive and I ate away my hurt from him. He was accused of a nasty crime…he plead his innocence and I bought it. Stood by him..until more evil came out of him and I left.

I was a single mom…no help from him other than taking the kids on the weekend..that ended when he landed himself in prison. Needless to say this was a very trying time for my kids…and me. My one son ate his emotions and I didn’t realize it for a long time.

While still married I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia. I’ve had it now for almost 8 years now.

http://www.m.webmd.com/a-to-z-guides/fibromyalgia-fatigue-directory?names-dropdown=FL

I am always so tired and hurt so bad. I also suffer from bad feet. Is hereditary…I’ve had 7 surgeries on my feet and never thought I would be able to walk barefoot. They are always hurting me.

When I first started exercising I knew it was going to be harder for me because of the fibro…and boy was I right. I remember walking and crying…because I was in so much pain…but I pushed through it. I told myself years ago that I would NEVER be defined by my pain.

I keep most of my pain from others. When I talk about it..people just think I’m crazy. I do things that others do so it’s hard for people to believe I’m in pain.

I pushed through it all and lost the weight..now that I’m exercising again and not use to it…I hurt. I hurt so bad!! I’m lucky now to have a caring husband…who understands…who helps me feel better…who cries with me. The pain is a normal thing for me…but sometimes I can’t handle anymore And just need a good cry.

Knowing the pain I’m in…I’m a super hero for even getting out of bed..but to lose the weight…! It’s a huge hurdle that I am overcoming. Right now my hip hurts so bad that I can’t sleep..and I’ve cried tonight…but it isn’t going to stop me. I have an amazing husband who helps me through.
I will over come this pain again! I will endure restless nights…sometimes the only thing that helps to endure is to look back at how far I’ve been!

Leave a comment